Showing posts with label the Ladies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label the Ladies. Show all posts

Friday, June 11, 2010

Intrepid

Oh look- its a whole bunch of douches, douching it up at a douche party!
OR IS IT!?
(hint: It's not)
Lisa invited a whole slew of us to the Columbia Alumni party on THE INTREPID! I've never been on the Intrepid before, so I signed up right away.
In college I once pretended to be a Columbia student and hopped on their ski team trip which happened to equal the most fun ever. Why not hop aboard the SSColumbia and see what good times developed?
Our strict instructions were to come dressed in nautical inspired garb, and the second we walked in we were given sailor hats by the museum staff. In short that doesn't make us douches, that makes us well dressed and appropriate for the event. And it was awesome.
Alex may have had my top pick for the night with his nautical themed tie.
But I was also truly impressed with Lisa and Issac's Yacht Club matching ensemble.
Fun Fact: Isaac's shorts had craw fish on them.
The party got into full swing, but unfortunately (or maybe this was good thing considering the copious amounts of booze swilling around) we were not allowed on the top deck. To make up for it they had plenty of things to keep us kiddies entertained.
Like a simulation roller coaster MOTHA FUCKERS!
I think we were all hoping it would be like this:
But it was a little more tame and was really like this:
But because we all had some booze, I think it was enjoyed by all. Barbara may have overly enjoyed it and screamed alot, but I think that's fun! (ed note: I may have screamed alot also...)
Oh no- this is what happens when you let a bunch of drunks steer a ship.
ICE BERG! Straight ahead!
And these photos were basically obligatory.
To take this photo (by the way, I'm so in love with my 40's pin-up stylin' outfit for the evening) I made a big sacrifice. To get inside the helecopter they provided a stool, which slid out from underneath me, causing my whole body to slam into the helicopter, my leg taking the majority of the hit...
...resulting in the nastiest bruise of my life.
The picture doesn't even do it justice. Owie. But totes worth it. Mostly because now when people ask me how I did it, I can say "I fell into a helicopter." That's kinda a fun thing to say every now and then.

Monday, June 7, 2010

Barbara-Q!

Every year I invite my friends up to the suburbs to partake in a little mom and dad coddling-dog loving-backyard grass-ing-hammock swinging-frisbe throwing-bbq good time! Its really amazing to be able to open my house up to my friends to provide a quick escape from the city. Plus FREE FOOD!
This year the eats were all vegetarian (my first all veggie bbq-ever!) and mostly vegan. I made delish portobello caps marinated in terayaki sauce. MMmmmm! Also available were asparagus, cold sesame noodles, gazpacho, chips, vegan hot dogs and burgers, and sword fighting corn on the cob. To drink-lemonade, beer, beer, beer and mint julep! The day ended with vanilla ice cream, and soy pomegranate chip ice cream. Soooo good!

Bob and Josh brought a guitar and drum box that one sits on and hit between one's legs whose name I've forgotten, and I brought my uke so we could pump up the jams. Lisa's dad and James delighted us with an awesome collaboration. Guitar and Uke unite!

A freak rain shower forced us all in quickly, but the party still continued! We all sat around my mother as she told us kiddies the orgins of Fritz, our mounted reindeer head. And the night ended with Brendan and I playing two hands piano, of which I feel its pretty clear that I haven't played in 10 years. I even screwed up Heart and Soul.
It was a great gathering of my birthright peeps and my home town friends and moms and dads. Super good times!

Friday, March 5, 2010

Barbara's Birthday!

Lisa made Barbara this fawesome cake by hand! Since our Barbara is really really into the jamz, Lisa fabricated a cake with this inspiration in mind. It was probably her best and most innovative cake yet! AND the fondant is vegetarian. What what!?
So the celebration took place at our favorite place Tortilla Flats. It was Monday which meant BINGO TIME! Which means tons of shots. Which is reason enough for everyone to go. And by everyone, it was really a nice mash up of people. Babs' co-workers who I adore, plus Babs' not co-workers at all, plus friends of friends who love Barbara. We all had the most fabulous time eating Mexican food, drinking and wearing party hats. Anyone who doesn't love wearing a party hat is a fool.

When its someone's birthday at T-flatz they make the birthday boys and girls compete in a PBR tall boy chugging contest. Whoever finishes their Tall Boy first gets a round of shots for the table, and also is a birthday winner. Barbara kinda won, by the most amazing of flukes. You see, in order to prove you finished your beer you have to turn it upside down over your head. Babs executed this a wee bit prematurely and poured upon her dome some flat, foamy beer. We loved her for it, and she won because she is so darn endearing! More SHOTS!

I wasn't kidding about the tons of shots. There were so many left over from the people who had enough (or were sick like me) that when three more people showed up, there were enough for them to take four shots, each.
This is me- partied out! Great timez Babz!


Note:
I'm leaving the country for two weeks. A travel excursion! I'm taking the camera along so I'll have plenty to share about "Not New York" Get excited y'all! I may be able to sneak in a post or two along the way. See you when I get back!
Any guesses to where I'm going?

Monday, February 1, 2010

Housewarming Pizzartay

Babs just moved to Gossip Girl land. Well not just, but rather recently. And then threw a fantastic party. All the important celebs were in attendance.

The party started out well, with plenty of booze. But an hour in someone got the bright (you'll see the pun in a second) idea to turn off the lights (see what I did there?) and then the real fun started.
Yeah, that's right, motha fuckin glow sticks, biatch. Whatcha gonna do?
Also please note in the background "Parrots Hilton."
These are Bab's co-workers. They are all investment bankers. These two are amazing, and I quite enjoy their straight and narrow company. We come from differnt sides of the track...errr east river, but they are so cool it don't even matter.
Scott is Babs' lil' 'bro. He continually styles himself after Clark Griswald from Vacation. I tell him this every chance I get.

As it turns out, the more lights are off, the more people want to dance. I'm not sure why this is, because I'll dance in the brightest of spots, but whatever makes da peeps want to get down with their bad selves I'm find with. Plus no lights and glow sticks is a simple joy that I'll gladly entertain.







Friday, January 15, 2010

New Years Ever

Ten, Nine, Eight, Seven.. no WAIT! All night false alarms rang out as fools started the countdown early, at least twice an hour, even after actual New Years happened. My favorite fools. The fools of the century.
Despite the rain, and two of my favorite friends being out and about with dudes they like, this new years was one of the best ever, really.
New Years, generally a high pressure night, is almost always over rated unless, of course, you're partying with me. Then you know your night will turn out swimmingly. The key is not too many people, and never thinking about taking a subway or cab. Oh- and champagne and good jamz don't hurt either.
Three of my most favorite Chicago buddies came out to count down with me, and one of their lil sisters. Plus two New Jersey folk (I know, I know...), my brother and his pal, TOM! spent the night. Throw in my roommate and her boyfriend and New Years brought a record 11 people crashing that night in the Color Me Cannon APT!
Usually for the count down we head over to Grand Army Plaza and watch the fire works and drunk park slope moms get their game on, but due to the inclement weather, my apartment worked just fine.How did you ring in the New Year? Did you have a blast or was it a bust?
And most importantly, what did you wear?

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Birthday Extravganza!


Aren't my friends insanely attractive?

Yes it was that time again. That time where I get a whole year older and high five the world about it. This birthday was really fantastic. I felt loved and surrounded by really fabulous people who care about me and are always happy to be where they are. They embody the spirit of "I make my own party!" In short, I am incredibly lucky to have such a group, a troupe, a gaggle of fantastic friends.

Plus Phillip made a baller mix of old 50's and 60's rock and roll. Doesn't get much better!
And then my pal Josh brought a coat he made-and let me wear it for the party-it was an uncompareable experience. I was elated. Can't you tell?
Anton, who is giving me a panther hug, rides a motorcycle and declared that I would be more than safe hanging on to the back of his cycle in this coat. I would just bounce off the road a few times should I fell off. All I needed was a matching helmet.

And I killed everyone who said I was Lady Gaga.

Our apt was aptly spooky- Halloween decorations ahoy. I live for this holiday.



This is my darling roommate the next morning. She ran into my room (how do you know its my room? All the shoes on the shelves.) and put the coat on. Cannon looks just as happy to be awake as Laura does. This is what hung over people do.