Showing posts with label Meatpacking District. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Meatpacking District. Show all posts

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

The Creator's Project

I got an email a few weeks ago saying I should sign up now for the Creator's Project. I read the rundown, Interpol, Mark Ronson, XXXchange, NASA, Sleigh Bells, Spike Jonez, Graffiti Research Lab, arts, all at Milk Studios. Plus free booze. Yeah- I signed up right quick.
Little did I know exactly how cool this event was going to be. It well surpassed my expectations. Its impossibile to explain everything that happened here because it was a total sensory overload and there was SO much going on at all times, but I'm going to make the attempt.
Also- I have to say never have I been so pleased with the staff. The security guards were helpful and polite instead of assholes, the event staff were super chill and calm instead of stressed out. In fact, I'd say they were happy to be working the event. It was so well organized, everything came together with close to perfect timing. No waiting around for an act or event to start, and the crowding was kept to a minimum. Whoever organized this event, you go girl, it was as close to perfect as you could have hoped, and the people working it made all the difference.
Spike Jonez screened a really sweet film about robots in love. I won't ruin it for you but I will say it tugged on my heartstrings. The short featured a band that played during the movie and provided much of the sound track. The last scene had a really charming song to bring the film to a bittersweet end and as the last frame flickered against the screen, the screen rose to reveal the band playing behind it. The had actually played the last song live. It was a beautiful surprise. AND THEY WERE WEARING GOLD JUMPSUITS!
This was a really interesting/creepy installation. These two very attractive models would stand, android like, in front of the Plexiglas cone. As one approached it the boy on the right would take you into the cone, seat you down and say "Look into the scanner." Then everything went dark and the participant would be almost blinded by the light of the scanner. A curt motion was made to leave and it was over. A minute later a distorted version of the face of the participant would be projected above the cone on a circular screen.
This was a nice video installation that was a nice escape from the loud noises and crowds. Very calming in a way.
I might have enjoyed this interactive installation the most. A cube made of LED lights strung from the ceiling that the viewer could walk into and have an experience. While I was waiting my turn to go inside I could watch everyone else. It appeared that once a new person entered the piece the cube would choose a new sound-and-light show for each viewer. This is what happened when Barbara went inside-
This installation disappeared itself once the shows really started going. Basically one could play these instruments and they were connected to a video panel on the wall. When a drum head was hit it would play a short video clip. Very cool. There was a lag that was almost a full second so you couldn't quite get a rhythm going. Very annoying.
The only installation I didn't play with was the video game hacks. They were obviously popular becuase there was always a line and I hate waiting on line really. However, it is with regret as they did look creative, well produced and fun to engage with.
Remember how I said the Creator's Project was well organized. Let me elaborate on that a little bit more. They really took technology to the next level. There were interactive touch screen kiosks on every floor that had a schedule of when and where things where taking place, a map of each floor and information about each of the events. There were flat screens hanging on the walls saying "Hey! Check out this thing going on here right now!" to remind us what was hot and happening. Plus instant updates from their twitter feed right on the wall screens. PLUS instant live video feeds of other events happening in different parts of the building. The second Interpol's set was over a screen flew down and we were able to watch the end of Die Antwood's set, which was probably more fun to experience in person, but still cool that we could watch it, as it was happening, instead of trying to run through a crowd of people trying to get up stairs to catch those last sweaty minutes. Very very well done, you can color me impressed.
ON TO THE JAMZ!
We caught some of Sleigh Bells. Now I am in love with their music, I can't get enough of A/B Machines. I think they have put together some catchy-as-fuck tunes and my co-worker and I often have them blasting out of our computers and giving our office a swift kick in the ass. If only I could say their live show was as good. Because its not. Its kinda just noise. Letdown.
Oh man, Interpol. Can I just sum it up like that? They were number one on my list of bands that I had to see. It was my first time seeing them, and it was so good. Words cannot express. Neither can my photography really. What can I say... I was in le moment.Neon Indian puts on a damn good show, complete with Theramin playing.
And Mark Ronson ended the night in the most perfect way. The hugest, sassiest, balls-to-the-wallsiest dance party. I can't decide what was the best part- oh wait yes I can. Dancing really hard to "Work It" by Missy, making eyes at a really hot dude, and then realizing that dude is Josh Hartnett. Yeah, that was the best part.
I dare anyone to top this festival. DARE YOU TO. And if you do, please be sure to invite me, darling.
Video coming soon!

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Gettin' Around

Check out these baller ways to get around in the hot hot summer time heat. A TANDEM RECUMBENT BIKE! WHAT?
YEAH!
And one of these guys, you can even take the kids. Its like a car, but its not and its only for tourists. And awesome people.
And yes this is a car, of which I'm not the biggest fan, but if you have to get around in a gas guzzler, then this is the beautiful machine that should do it (minus the Havanas advert).

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Party party party!

Monday night was Marc's party! No I didn't go! We were helping our client throw their own party (which was fabulous and well attended, thankyouverymuch) and also Marc just didn't invite me this year. I can't imagine why...
I was decidedly sober and after our fantastically successful event I ate at my fav, the Corner Shop- and had their bread pudding, which makes you want to cry its so good- sped on home and passed out completely and entirely at the early hour of 11:30. I am a party animal, let me tell you.
All that extra rest turned out to be fourtuitous as last morning my boss was all casual like "Hey, I can't go to this event, do you want to?" and its at the MoMA being hosted by Linda Evangelsta and Ron Arad. So basically I snatched out of her hand, called her a saucy minx and ran home to be a total girl about what I was going to wear. I had only planned on attending the Sartorialist's party and was not at all appropriately dressed at all for a gala at the MoMA-jeeze! Six outfits later, I left to holler at Trace-face for a hot minute at the Sart's party. Garance was there too! And I saw the loverly Simon Doonan, again. He's totally stalking me. I helped Tracy choose some Kanye West jams (I guess Scott only likes Kanye, no love for the Taylor Swift! Good Riddance!) for the fete, and then dashed off to the MoMA.
In attendance, in no particular order was-
Ron Arad (wearing the same "bonnet"(he loves a hat) and crocs as the night before- a fashion faux pas on so many levels, but when you're Ron Arad, I suppose you can get away with it)










Linda Evangelista
















Kate Lanphear






















Terry Richardson













Josh Hartnett (okay so I didn't actually see him but a friend of mine who I was hanging with got a text from across the party that he was there)





















Waris Ahluwalia























Bar Refaeli




















And aparently Mary J Blige was there, but I only read that online. No one I knew saw her.
Judy and I wandered around trying to find vegetarian food, but I believe the cheif was French, so it was practically impossible. There were some steamed veggies, but that is only water and cellulose which doesn't really absorb alchol that well. Speaking of alchol, they had these amazing cotton candy lemonade drinks, making it the second time this fashion week that I have had cotton candy. The drink was strong, but let me just say- MMmmmm. I was decidedly not sober this time around. I ran into some of my favorite (and well dressed) editors from Surface and Interior Design.
Mid party I got a text from Eddie inviting me to the Purple Magazine party at Avenue. (note: turns out it was the MCM and Coco Rocha party after all)
He was all-"Do you wanna come?" and I was all-"Do you even have to ask!?" At the Standard, I met up with him and a few of his friends. One looked oddly familiar, but I couldn't place him. Lo and behold, later Eddie tells me its Yvan, the facehunter himself! I fangirled a little bit, but only on the inside because that is not cute.
I met some amazing people, talked with Waris, and had my photo taken by the Corba Snake, again. Mark Hunter's hair is really big right now. Like woah. Corry Kennedy nearly mauled Eddie to the ground with a very enthusastic hug. And near the end of the night I spotted Leigh Lezark was bopping around the bar getting a drink. I danced with this fantastic girl, a crazy guy, my neighbor kept giving me sipps of his drinks, because he was a friendly neighbor. All in all, I can say I'm still high from the super fun. And exhausted. Damn I need a nap.

Monday, July 27, 2009

The High Line


Johanne, my love from Belgium, a good friend- friend for life (and a Francophone, what is it with me and French speakers? seriously! I just can't get enough!) came to NY for a visit with her great friend Marie Pierre, nick named Mype.
Johanne lived here for year, but it was Mype's first time- so they spent alot of time doing touristy stuff. I feel like that is all well and good, but I know why I love NY, and its not because I can visit the Statue of Liberty or go to the top of the Empire State Building. There is a spirit of the city- a charming street, a good slice of pizza, fashion-fashion-fashion, hustle bustle, community within a whole hell of a lot of assholes, beautiful creatures of the night, bike messengers... oh the ever shifting list of wonderful things that come together to make a heart beat, a breath, a rhythm, and gives it a saucy character.

When I travel I try to keep this idea in mind and try to fall in love with other cities. When I have guests I try to bring them to the New Yorkiest places I know- and leave them to their own devices when it comes to making the trek to Times Square. They can visit that on their own time.
I understand the pull, I suppose, but its too plastic and not really New York, even though it absolutely is, ya get?
So I decdied that on a Sunday I would take over. I knew we needed to walk a shit ton after eating my hands down favorite pizzaria (John's on Bleeker for all ya'll). We meandered through the West Village, stopping at interesting shops, a neato gallery, and of course a Marc Jacobs or two,- all en route to the High Line. It is a brand new, and super neat park.
If you live here, you know it is one of the only above ground parks in the US, built on the old rail road tracks used for carrying freight (and meat- yes, once the meatpacking district was true to its namesake).
You can still see the old tracks, and a view of New Jersey (is that a pro or a con?). It was a nice way to spend an afternoon, lounging on the over sized chairs, enjoying a paused moment, taking in the completely interesting park. I recommend it to anyone. Its unlike any park I've ever been to, and while there is no grass to laze around in (which is absolute favorite thing to d0) there is plenty of greenery, people watching and good architecture. Check it.
After our fantastic day at the high line Mype gave me such a complement- New York would not be New York without you. And suggested I start giving tours of the city. I think I would like to do that very muc- and it would be so so so much fun. I love foreginers, I mean after all, I'm a New Yorker!

Monday, March 2, 2009

APT


I love France, the French, et all (et tous). Currently staying in our fair city is the lovely Agathe and Catherine. We all went out for dinner, drank Merlot, and then traipsed on over to APT for a dance.
There was not really any dancing as it turned out, and so we kinda had a drank and were leaving when we found this nook in the hallway. It turned into a 20 mintue photo session.
This proves that you make your own party. No matter where you are you can have a jam. Agathe may be the number one pioneer of this train of thought which is probably why I love her so much.







I like to pretend I am French.

Thursday, May 22, 2008

New York Design Week

Came and went so fast I am still spinning. Last night was my first night not in heels at a party (or two or three). The grand finale was a gold themed party at the Four Seasons hosted by Met Home.
Highlights included:
ICFF 2008
Meeting much of the Blu Dot staff and designers
Seeing my boss (tiny tiny) stand next to Dwell Editor in Chief, Sam Grawe
Going to the Vitra party and making a Jasper Morrison sighting

and of course- going to a party at the Rubin Chapelle store, which is also the "Elanor Waldorf" store in Gossip Girl

Not Design Week related, I much enjoyed dancing at Darkroom with my most favorite Nijah, and all four of my very bestest friends from high school managed to be in the same place at the same time. History was made.

Friday, April 25, 2008

Tuesday Night

Sura and I went to Bowery Electric on Bowery and Bond. It was nice inside, a little empty, but pretty chill, and mostly hip. The dj's played pretty good jams, not the typical bar music like Journey, AC/DC etc. I called up James, who lives around the corner in, get this, the old Ramoness hangout apt. His roommate happens to be the graphic artist of the Ramones, you know, the guy who invented the Ramoness logo, etc. It's basicly like living in a museum. There are all these photos of members of the Ramones in the apt, by the things they are by. For example, there is a photo of Joey Ramone standing next to a pipe, and this photo is hung by the pipe. Once there was this scrap book just lying out and inside the plastic pages were the original pieces of paper that lyrics to many of the iconic songs we know and love from the Ramones were written on. Witnessing history. The dude himself I guess is in his 60's but I've never met him.
So James came and brought Casey and we had a championship time.
Then just Sura and I went to the Inn for the Trashion party. Dimitry!!! who always seems to be djing wherever I go was... djing. When we walked into the Inn, it seemed utterly dead, there was one guy in the place, then we remembered to walk upstairs where the jamz were in full swing. I met Andre, who had ODB on his shirt.

It was luv at first sight.

Oh yeah. Walking back to the subway around 3:00 AM we spotted this gentleman asleep in the very posh clothing store on W 13th st. Very bizzare.

Thursday, April 17, 2008

APT

Tuesday night, every New Yorker's true party night, came a-knockin'. But not to worry, Sura and I were already armed with a plan. We went to the Meatpacking District, which is normally lame lame lame with long lines, dude-bro "grown up" frat boys, and pricey covers. However, we were "on da list" and didn't have to deal with most of that and APT didn't have too many frat boys.
The styling, true to its name, was that of an "apartment." It was swankier than any bachelor pad I've seen. It had a bed, dining room table, lounge area, etc. A nice detail included a map of the Eastern Hemisphere, no America's to be seen. Another nice aspect was a deck! Who has a deck in NYC anymore? And it was HUGE! So, for you smokers out there, and for you dancers who just need to cool off, you can go right outside without being in the street. Amazing.
The dj set was really scene appropriate, and it just felt wonderful to be dancing in the downstairs "double" bar space. We stayed until late.