Showing posts with label Chelsea. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Chelsea. Show all posts

Friday, June 4, 2010

The Frying Pan is a boat

Hey, y'all! Wanna go to a bar that is like Discovery Zone for adults and is not Dave and Busters? But kinda full of assholes anyways, but is still really le coole? Even if you are thisclose to New Jersey? Sure you do! Head all the way to the Hudson river on 23rd street. There is a really big floating dock and two boats tied to it. On the dock is a bar with some food stuffs, and also an old Caboose. This place is called the Frying Pan. It is, in a word, ballerest.

That photo above, its a dance floor, complete with an old rustic outta tune piano. I've never seen anyone dancing, but once I turned on the turntables (hidden in a little room behind the piano, you can see the window cutout) and played some jam that was set up, which was kinda cool.
Yeah, yeah, its kinda for grown up frat boys (or bouys) (is that an oxymoron?) but its also really amazing. Basically there are two boats attached to the dock, and the first one is called the Frying Pan, and you can bring your beers on the boat and chill on the deck. Or if you're the adventurous type, which I know I am, you take your beers to the depths of the boat.
There are no signs that say anything is a forbidden zone so I explored the shit out of that place. I believe the boat was, at one time, totally chillaxing on the ocean floor so much of the space is all rusty awesome. There are some really nice relics, colors, textures and mess everywhere. It really feels like it shouldn't be allowed, but I'm oh so glad it is.
You can take a nap (or bang, presumably) in the captain's liars (but you will probably get bed bugs.)
Or "steer the ship" like I did.
And here is a really spooky and unlit place way near the stern of the boat, three stories down. I don't think any of those "Life Boat" things will help out. I think its just junk, but what do I know, I'm just a pedestrian.
A great way to spend Memorial Day!

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Party party party!

Monday night was Marc's party! No I didn't go! We were helping our client throw their own party (which was fabulous and well attended, thankyouverymuch) and also Marc just didn't invite me this year. I can't imagine why...
I was decidedly sober and after our fantastically successful event I ate at my fav, the Corner Shop- and had their bread pudding, which makes you want to cry its so good- sped on home and passed out completely and entirely at the early hour of 11:30. I am a party animal, let me tell you.
All that extra rest turned out to be fourtuitous as last morning my boss was all casual like "Hey, I can't go to this event, do you want to?" and its at the MoMA being hosted by Linda Evangelsta and Ron Arad. So basically I snatched out of her hand, called her a saucy minx and ran home to be a total girl about what I was going to wear. I had only planned on attending the Sartorialist's party and was not at all appropriately dressed at all for a gala at the MoMA-jeeze! Six outfits later, I left to holler at Trace-face for a hot minute at the Sart's party. Garance was there too! And I saw the loverly Simon Doonan, again. He's totally stalking me. I helped Tracy choose some Kanye West jams (I guess Scott only likes Kanye, no love for the Taylor Swift! Good Riddance!) for the fete, and then dashed off to the MoMA.
In attendance, in no particular order was-
Ron Arad (wearing the same "bonnet"(he loves a hat) and crocs as the night before- a fashion faux pas on so many levels, but when you're Ron Arad, I suppose you can get away with it)










Linda Evangelista
















Kate Lanphear






















Terry Richardson













Josh Hartnett (okay so I didn't actually see him but a friend of mine who I was hanging with got a text from across the party that he was there)





















Waris Ahluwalia























Bar Refaeli




















And aparently Mary J Blige was there, but I only read that online. No one I knew saw her.
Judy and I wandered around trying to find vegetarian food, but I believe the cheif was French, so it was practically impossible. There were some steamed veggies, but that is only water and cellulose which doesn't really absorb alchol that well. Speaking of alchol, they had these amazing cotton candy lemonade drinks, making it the second time this fashion week that I have had cotton candy. The drink was strong, but let me just say- MMmmmm. I was decidedly not sober this time around. I ran into some of my favorite (and well dressed) editors from Surface and Interior Design.
Mid party I got a text from Eddie inviting me to the Purple Magazine party at Avenue. (note: turns out it was the MCM and Coco Rocha party after all)
He was all-"Do you wanna come?" and I was all-"Do you even have to ask!?" At the Standard, I met up with him and a few of his friends. One looked oddly familiar, but I couldn't place him. Lo and behold, later Eddie tells me its Yvan, the facehunter himself! I fangirled a little bit, but only on the inside because that is not cute.
I met some amazing people, talked with Waris, and had my photo taken by the Corba Snake, again. Mark Hunter's hair is really big right now. Like woah. Corry Kennedy nearly mauled Eddie to the ground with a very enthusastic hug. And near the end of the night I spotted Leigh Lezark was bopping around the bar getting a drink. I danced with this fantastic girl, a crazy guy, my neighbor kept giving me sipps of his drinks, because he was a friendly neighbor. All in all, I can say I'm still high from the super fun. And exhausted. Damn I need a nap.

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Teens with Masks


Nick and I went on over to the Max Protetch gallery to check out his neighbor, and friend's opening Teens with Masks by Oliver Herring.

The gallery was filled with large format photographs with 3-D silver "masks" over the faces of the subjects, teens that he had worked with. The work was perfectly presented. My least favorite thing is when good work is put up on the wall with T-pins or office paper clips. These items are for the office, not the gallery. It shows the artist's lack of care for the work, lack of co-cohesiveness and intent, lack of follow-through.
These pieces were not only well thought out, but beautifully presented in frames that brought the work to the next level.
AND-I'm a hater of frames.

In the back were studies all lined up together.
Basically, they made me want to get out the glitter paint and do something fun.
What was really great about these is he took a relativity messy and unrefined art material and made clean, deliberate lines and shapes, making the medium utterly sophisticated. While at the same time there was a level of fun and humor.



After the inital opening there was dinner, in the gallery which was enjoyable and intimate an incredibly touching gesture from the artist to his friends. I really enjoyed the whole event.




Monday, April 6, 2009

John Waters

John Waters is a pilgrim.
He's not. He's an amazing artist. I own a book of photography shot by Todd Oldham, and its of John Water's house.
Aparently John likes fake food alot and has a massive collection of the stuff all around his house. He also collects books. I think bibliophile is an understatement. He literally has to make tables out of his books, because there are so many. Sounds wonderful to me.
Anyways- Julie invited me to check out his artz at the Marianne Boesky Gallery last Thursday. So while everyone was standing around Topshop, trying to get a glimpse of Kate (which I get, really I do! We love you Kate!) I spotted not just John Waters himself, but loverly Debbie Harry.
There she is (center) posh as ever. And there is ol' Johnny boy, to the right.
Meat.
Because it was SO crowded, I couldn't get the best shots of the work- but this one says "Old Chickens Make Good Soup."
Giant Roach Killer.

Ike and Tina.


Massice La Mer creme.
Tara Reid on a butt, this is a close up of that:


Me and Julie wanted to me really tacky and take a picture with John, but then we couldn't get close enough. He's hawt.

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Dana Schutz

I love Dana Schutz, hardcore. I think she has this strange Chicago contingency, I can't quite explain that, but I know peeps at my Alma Matter SAIC loved on her alot. She had a new exhibition at the Zach Feuer Gallery on Friday.
The pieces were not exactly what I was expecting- Dana's trying some new things. At first I was disappointed but then I remembered I have to allow the artist to play, to push and pull. Its the only way they can evolve and have fun doing it. She did do some interesting things with the new works. The piece above was my favorite in the gallery.