Showing posts with label photography. Show all posts
Showing posts with label photography. Show all posts

Monday, April 25, 2011

On Olafur

I have a whole post planned about Olafur Eliasson and his amazing work at the Arken, but for now I just wanted to post this photo. Only because the second I started editing it and I saw how cool it came out I knew Blaine would cut me if I held on to it for a moment longer. This was kinda what happened within the exhibit, colors started changing. Some people saw blues and purples, and I thought it was bizarre that I didn't see them. As it turned out I did manage to capture it with my camera.

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

The Creator's Project

I got an email a few weeks ago saying I should sign up now for the Creator's Project. I read the rundown, Interpol, Mark Ronson, XXXchange, NASA, Sleigh Bells, Spike Jonez, Graffiti Research Lab, arts, all at Milk Studios. Plus free booze. Yeah- I signed up right quick.
Little did I know exactly how cool this event was going to be. It well surpassed my expectations. Its impossibile to explain everything that happened here because it was a total sensory overload and there was SO much going on at all times, but I'm going to make the attempt.
Also- I have to say never have I been so pleased with the staff. The security guards were helpful and polite instead of assholes, the event staff were super chill and calm instead of stressed out. In fact, I'd say they were happy to be working the event. It was so well organized, everything came together with close to perfect timing. No waiting around for an act or event to start, and the crowding was kept to a minimum. Whoever organized this event, you go girl, it was as close to perfect as you could have hoped, and the people working it made all the difference.
Spike Jonez screened a really sweet film about robots in love. I won't ruin it for you but I will say it tugged on my heartstrings. The short featured a band that played during the movie and provided much of the sound track. The last scene had a really charming song to bring the film to a bittersweet end and as the last frame flickered against the screen, the screen rose to reveal the band playing behind it. The had actually played the last song live. It was a beautiful surprise. AND THEY WERE WEARING GOLD JUMPSUITS!
This was a really interesting/creepy installation. These two very attractive models would stand, android like, in front of the Plexiglas cone. As one approached it the boy on the right would take you into the cone, seat you down and say "Look into the scanner." Then everything went dark and the participant would be almost blinded by the light of the scanner. A curt motion was made to leave and it was over. A minute later a distorted version of the face of the participant would be projected above the cone on a circular screen.
This was a nice video installation that was a nice escape from the loud noises and crowds. Very calming in a way.
I might have enjoyed this interactive installation the most. A cube made of LED lights strung from the ceiling that the viewer could walk into and have an experience. While I was waiting my turn to go inside I could watch everyone else. It appeared that once a new person entered the piece the cube would choose a new sound-and-light show for each viewer. This is what happened when Barbara went inside-
This installation disappeared itself once the shows really started going. Basically one could play these instruments and they were connected to a video panel on the wall. When a drum head was hit it would play a short video clip. Very cool. There was a lag that was almost a full second so you couldn't quite get a rhythm going. Very annoying.
The only installation I didn't play with was the video game hacks. They were obviously popular becuase there was always a line and I hate waiting on line really. However, it is with regret as they did look creative, well produced and fun to engage with.
Remember how I said the Creator's Project was well organized. Let me elaborate on that a little bit more. They really took technology to the next level. There were interactive touch screen kiosks on every floor that had a schedule of when and where things where taking place, a map of each floor and information about each of the events. There were flat screens hanging on the walls saying "Hey! Check out this thing going on here right now!" to remind us what was hot and happening. Plus instant updates from their twitter feed right on the wall screens. PLUS instant live video feeds of other events happening in different parts of the building. The second Interpol's set was over a screen flew down and we were able to watch the end of Die Antwood's set, which was probably more fun to experience in person, but still cool that we could watch it, as it was happening, instead of trying to run through a crowd of people trying to get up stairs to catch those last sweaty minutes. Very very well done, you can color me impressed.
ON TO THE JAMZ!
We caught some of Sleigh Bells. Now I am in love with their music, I can't get enough of A/B Machines. I think they have put together some catchy-as-fuck tunes and my co-worker and I often have them blasting out of our computers and giving our office a swift kick in the ass. If only I could say their live show was as good. Because its not. Its kinda just noise. Letdown.
Oh man, Interpol. Can I just sum it up like that? They were number one on my list of bands that I had to see. It was my first time seeing them, and it was so good. Words cannot express. Neither can my photography really. What can I say... I was in le moment.Neon Indian puts on a damn good show, complete with Theramin playing.
And Mark Ronson ended the night in the most perfect way. The hugest, sassiest, balls-to-the-wallsiest dance party. I can't decide what was the best part- oh wait yes I can. Dancing really hard to "Work It" by Missy, making eyes at a really hot dude, and then realizing that dude is Josh Hartnett. Yeah, that was the best part.
I dare anyone to top this festival. DARE YOU TO. And if you do, please be sure to invite me, darling.
Video coming soon!

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Penthousing

Now don't get jealous. I just happened to be able to hang out, in a penthouse, in the Plaza, for work. For a couple of days. Its not like there was a party with a cool jazz band, lots of champagne and some of my favorite people there.
Who am I kidding? This was definitely a super perk of the job! And a great way to start off ICFF week, with a posh party. It left a good taste in my mouth for the next coming days.
This being my third New York Design Week, I can now don my "old hat" and not be as excited about a week of nonstop partying. Except when PARTIES AT THE PLAZA PENTHOUSE ARE INVOLVED.
I'm sorry, was that not classy enough for my surrounding digs? I do apologize. Indeed.Here we are, our company, hanging out on the terrace (which I kept calling a Terrance) overlooking a view most people never get to see. I took a small moment to remember how lucky I was to be were I was, and then I took some more photos to make you just a little bit more envious of our super plush and luxe lifestyles.


Judy and I's favorite activity, especially during ICFF, is to take goofy photos, its our way or engaging with the space. We shared this tradition with our lovely intern and new best friend, Carolyn.
Yes, there was a yoga room.

Judy, workin' hard, or hardly workin'?

More ICFF coverage to come, perhaps less silly in tone, though no promises.

Thursday, March 4, 2010

The Crazies

Oh yes. I love fashion week because I love fashion. I like being around the buzz, feeling inspired, and while I do gush over a minor celeb, I'm there to feel the energy and take something profound away. While I do enjoy dressing up for the events, its because I enjoy dressing up and any excuse is a valid one. But there are some people who go to the nines, to watch someone else's show. So they can be photographed, the desire the lime light. Its a little masturbatory and self indulgent if you ask me, but then again who am I to judge another's motivation for getting' gussied up? Really I can't hate (don't hate the player, hate the game). I'm altogether amused.
Spikes out my glasses, spikes out my knees, spikes out my shoes. Leggings as pants.
A coat made of curly hair, and sunglasses inside with drool on them.
An interesting hair cut...
I can't front, I'm LOVING the shoes. I would totes wear them.
A big hat!

And what is up with all this black? Come on people, color is the new black!

Monday, March 1, 2010

I love a celebrity sighting

I mean, who doesn't love a good celeb sighting?! Its' New York! Here is man about town Simon Doonan. I must run into this gent at least four times a year (and when I say "run into" I mean be in the same room, kinda, but like far away so he doesn't actually know me...yet). I love that his bags always have his initials on them. Its adorable.
Everyone's favorite fashion editor and project runway judge, Nina Garcia. She's sitting next to- if I am not mistaken- Joanna Coles, fellow Marie Claire editor (well she's the editor in chief...).
Oh, Alexa, do you need help finding your seat?
Oh, I love on Hamish so so so much. I just want him to style me. I feel there is no one classier than Hamish. I mean even in stupid wellie rainboots which I totes normally hate- he makes it work.
And there is Fern in her usual seat, sneaking in just as the show is about to begin. I saw Scott running around but the man could not stay still long enough for me to snap a decent shot. I guess he needs to take a photo more than I need to take a photo of him taking a photo. All in all it was an excellent front row!
To what show you may ask? I'll tell you tomorrow...

Friday, February 12, 2010

Fashion Week- So Not Glam

Its that time again, ladies and gents. Its New York City Fashion Week! Woooo! The last one in the Tents. Hazzah! Suck my heel! No really don't, I love on it alot.
Chloe, my darling, is in the land, working back stage helping the shows get on and on. And since she has a healthy does of cynicism, she doesn't get star struck like I would. She just rolls her eyes and gets shit done, which makes her a better sound lady then I ever would. I would just drool all over Kelly Cutrone, and then she'll never hire me.During Snowpocalypse I happened to end my work day in the city (ugh a three hour meeting with new clients... 2 hours too long) and popped on by the Tents to see just how things were coming along.
Let me tell you, this is one of those cases where fashion gets exposed and we realize its so not glam.
There were boxes and cases every which where, and the heat was up to something like 100 degrees to keep the snow from piling up on the top of the tents. So everyone was sweaty smelly delicious. The staff was almost done hanging a photo installation of humorous and glamorous photos down the hallway to the main Tent. Chloe and I took time to make fun.


And of course we filled in as last minute models...


Fashion week- so not glam.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Mo Money MoSex

Because I work in a tres cool office, for the holidays in lieu of a get drunk and make out with the mailroom boy in the copy room, our office party was a delicious lunch followed by a trip to the Museum of Sex. No- it was not at all awkward to walk into the room with all the porns screening at once with my boss.
There was a mildly interesting photo exhibition of people in the porn industry taken at the Big Porn Convention (not its real name) held every year. Who knew that was a thing? All the regulars were there, like Ron Jeremy and Jenna Jameson, and the Real Doll maker. But then there were a bunch of faces I didn't know. I guess I'm just a little uneducated...
But fear not! Educational pamphlets are available. From the 50's! Some illustrations of spanking and big ol' boot-tay.

And the ever popular Lap Juicer. Please take note of the glass under the chair, to collect the lap juice presumably.

The Museum was okay. Not thrilling. I did, however, get to touch a real doll for the first (and only) time. Exhilarating.

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Happy Thankful Groundhogs Day Parade

Pikachu saw his shadow! Five more years of parades!

Okay so its a bit of a reach-all the way back to November, but worth talking about because
-I woke up way earlier than I do even for work (to which I am habitually and consistently 15 minutes late to every morning. What can I say? I'm most definitely not a morning person, its a shortcoming of mine that I've come to terms with. I've got plenty of, ummm, tall comings. (Nora- people call those admirable qualities, not tall comings.))
-Brian hosted a very cool Parade Watching par-tay complete with bagels and great views of the parade. Which led to a great photo of spider man's ass.
I also managed to get some really great images of the parade watchers from other buildings. Everyone was slightly risking their lives by dangling their upper torsos out of the 26th floor window in hopes of watching the parade. Okay- it wasn’t really that dangerous at all- just really cool. The marching bands look so different from a birds eye view, and since we were much higher than any of the balloons, for the first time I was looking down at them instead of looking up.

Dodecahedrons! The posh-est parade balloon, and definitely the most memorable.
Happy Groundhog's Day, ya'll. 6 more weeks of winter- as if we expected anything else in the first week of February. Its cold like a mother and that isn't changing for at least 6 weeks. A-doi, Puxatony Phil.